Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

An Introduction to Versioning

SmartForms has an in-built version control. The cycle of changes is associated with versioning. 

Every form that you create can have up to TWO versions in use. These are:

  • The Unpublished version - suitable for modifying and testing out changes. This version cannot be accessed by end-users.
  • The Published version - the version of the form that end-users have access to. No modifications are allowed to the published version of a forms. To make modifications, a new form version must be created.



The cycle of a form change consists of:

  1. Creating a new form version, Unpublished. This is where you will make any changes to your form and test them out.
  2. Testing out your changes.
  3. Either publishing your changes or discarding them. When you publish your changes the version you've been working on becomes Published. When you discard your changes the version you've been working on is deleted (except for newly created form, Version 1 is the only version that exists). 

Your users will ONLY ever see your Published form versions. When you publish your new version, users who are in-progress on any form will be able to complete the form at the version that they started. Any users who start the form later will see the new version of the form.

You manage form versions in the "Status" tab of the "Manage Form" screen (see Managing Form).




Creating a New Form Version

You can create a new version when the Unpublished and Published versions are the same. In other words, when there is no development version.

When working on changes, if the published version has workflows, you may wish to temporarily change the workflow settings until you publish the form. For example, you might want to change recipient email addresses to testing ones.

Restoring a Previous Form Version

If you published a form for end-users and noticed a problem that requires rolling back to a previous version, you can do that with SmartForms.

1. Restore a previous (good) version and publish it

  1. Download the current (bad) version using the Export facility.
  2. Create a new form version.
  3. Select "Show Release History", identify to the version you want to roll-back to, and select "Export Definition".
  4. In the "Details" panel (right side), select "Update Definition" and upload the file you downloaded in step 3.
  5. The current Unpublished version will now be identical to the version you selected in step 3.
  6. Publish it. You're back to the previous (good) version!

2. Restore the problematic version and fix it.

  1. Create a new form version. This is where we will import the bad version so you can fix it.
  2. On the "Details" panel (right side), select "Update Definition" and upload the bad version.
  3. Work on the changes as usual.
  4. When you are ready, you can publish this form version to allow end-users to access it again.



  • No labels